You probably thought it was simpler to own an inflatable pool than a real one, but think again. 

(David De Lossy, ThinkStock)
(David De Lossy, ThinkStock)

New Jersey regulations require a permit for any structure that holds more than 2 feet of water, a separate permit for any electrical component related to the pool, and finally, "security," such as a specific size fence, to guard the water.

While town officials typically aren't scouring lawns for noncompliant "kiddie pools," they can fine people who don't follow these rules anywhere from a dollar to $2,000. Lawmakers say this is all about safety, but it seems to me like another chance to make money.

Did you know about this law? Would you take the proper measures to follow it? Tell us what you think in the poll and comments section below.

More From New Jersey 101.5 FM