TRENTON — New Jersey on Tuesday added to a list of states where incoming travelers must self-quarantine upon arrival.

The 10 states added Tuesday — Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington — increased the total number to 31. Minnesota was removed from the list.

New York and Connecticut have taken similar actions in an attempt to stem the spread of the virus from states where it is spiking.

The advisory applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Last week, Health Commissioner Judith Persichilli said airlines will notify passengers traveling to New Jersey about the survey at their point of departure, and again in flight. The survey will collect information on travelers’ residence and destination, which will then be forwarded to the appropriate county health department. The county will contact the travelers, Persichilli said.

Murphy reported 424 new cases and 22 more deaths on Tuesday. New Jersey now has confirmed 13,763 deaths from COVID-19 with another 2,000 considered probable. The total number of cases exceeds 177,000, but the state has seen a significant drop in the last several weeks in the number of positive cases, hospitalizations and patients requiring intensive care.

The rate of transmission, considered a key number because it measures how many more cases each new case leads to, stood at 0.9.

For most people, the virus causes mild or moderate symptoms. Older adults and people with existing health problems are at higher risk of more severe illness or death.

MORE: What to expect from a socially distanced Hurricane Harbor

(Copyright 2020 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

More From New Jersey 101.5 FM