Drivers caught talking or texting on their cell phones in New Jersey may soon face increased fines and license suspensions.

Texting while driving

A measure being considered Monday by the state Senate's Law and Public Safety Committee would increase fines for violators from $100 to $200 for the first offense.

A second offense would garner a $400 fine, while a third violation would mean a $600 fine.

Violators also could have their driver's license suspended for 90 days for the third and subsequent violations. They also would receive three points on their license.

A similar measure was approved by the full Senate in 2010.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

More From New Jersey 101.5 FM