Holiday pastries are cropping up all over the place.

Just the other day, I wrote about St. Joseph’s Day with the popular “zeppoli di San Giuseppe”. There's also Irish Soda Bread for St. Patty’s Day; and pretty soon we’ll be inundated with pies, cakes, chocolates and the like for Passover and Easter.

I just thought it was kind of strange to drive up to my local donut shop and see that they were having a special on “Star of David” donuts for Passover.

And even though my wife is Jewish, she wouldn’t know kosher if it hit her in the head.

So I when I drove up to the little box where they ask for your order, I asked her just the same:

Me: “Babe, is it possible to have donuts for Passover? I always thought you had to burn off anything that was made with yeast before the holiday.”

She: “Hmm, never really thought of that! Anytime we had Passover, it was always the flourless chocolate cake, or the almond cookies…but not donuts!”

Me: “Sounds like marketing, but now why would you advertise something to people when they can’t eat it? Isn’t that like poking their eyes out?”

She: “Go ask the kid behind the counter…maybe he knows.”

Me: “Bad enough he can’t hear me through this box that I have to shout. Now you want me to get out of the car to ask some kid a question he probably doesn’t have the answer for.”

She: “Well, you’re the idiot who asked in the first place.”

Me: “Frig this…let’s just go to Starbucks!”

So, you tell me, Passover Posse members….is it possible to have kosher Star of David donuts for Passover?

The Inquiring Goyim wants to know!

More From New Jersey 101.5 FM