The brave men and women who died while serving the public were remembered this morning during the New Jersey Law Enforcement Memorial Service.Hundred's of the state's finest gathered at Great Auditorium in Ocean Grove for the 28th year the ceremony has taken place.

Over 450 seats remained blacked out intentionally to commemorate those who have lost their life in the line of duty over the past decades.

This year, the memories of four officers; New Jersey State Police Trooper Anthony R. Fitiou, Ocean County Prosecutor Tina Rambo, Mount Arlington Police Department Patrolman Joseph S. Wargo Jr., and Newark Police Department Detective Michael Morgan Jr. were honored.

Honor guards from across the state joined the New Jersey United Pipe Band, the West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North and South choirs, and a gun salute, all in honor of the officers who gave the ultimate sacrifice.

Touching musical performances were also delivered by Atlantic City Police Department Officers Jarrell and Harold Lathan, and Asbury Police Department Officer Tyrone McAllister who sang "Still With You" and "Wind Beneath My Wings."

Florence Township Police Department Officer Michelle Hollins also sang several songs in tribute, including "Let There Be Peace on Earth", "Amazing Grace: A Policewoman's Tribute", and "God Bless America."

The keynote speaker for the night was Lt. Governor and former Monmouth County Sheriff Kim Guadagno.

"These heroes devoted their careers and ultimately gave their lives in service in others because it was a path they chose to follow. They died doing what they loved to do."

Guadagno awarded the families of the fallen officers with memorial commendations.

Lacey Police Chief and President of the New Jersey State Association of Police Chiefs, William Nally hosted the ceremony. He said it's important the event be done every year because it serves as an important reminder to the families of those who have lost loved ones.

"They know we remember and care for them, and we honor the service for their fallen family members."