The Kentucky Wildcats have been given the No. 1 overall seed for the NCAA men's basketball tournament. Kentucky has spent most of the season atop The Associated Press poll, losing just once since December 10.

Kentucky heads up the South Region. Syracuse is the No. 1 seed in the East, North Carolina is No. 1 in the Midwest and Michigan State has come away with top honors in the West.

Duke has the second seed in the South, followed by Baylor, Indiana and Wichita State. UNLV is sixth, ahead of Notre Dame, Iowa State, Connecticut and Xavier. Colorado is 11th in the West followed by Virginia Commonwealth, New Mexico State, South Dakota State and Lehigh. Mississippi Valley State and Western Kentucky will square off to earn the right to take on Kentucky in the second round.

Missouri is No. 2 in the West, followed by Marquette, Louisville and New Mexico. Sixth seed Murray St. is followed by Florida, Memphis, Saint Louis and Virginia. Colorado State is No. 11, ahead of Long Beach State and Davidson. BYU and Iona share the 14th seed and will meet in the first round. No. 15 Norfolk and LIU-Brooklyn round out the West seeds.

The second seed in the East is Ohio State, followed by Florida State, Wisconsin and Vanderbilt. Sixth-seed Cincinnati is ahead of Gonzaga, Kansas State, Southern Mississippi and West Virginia. Texas, Harvard, Montana, St. Bonaventure, Loyola of Maryland and UNC Asheville round out a bracket that does not have a first-round game.

The Midwest will have two first-round games. Cal and South Florida will square off as the 12th seeds, and Lamar will take on Vermont for the right to take on North Carolina.

Kansas is the second seed in the Midwest, followed by Georgetown, Michigan and Temple. San Diego State is sixth, ahead of Saint Mary's, Creighton, Alabama and Purdue. North Carolina State is 11th, Ohio is 13th, Belmont is 14th and Detroit is 15th.
(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)