If you're on Facebook and happen to see a reoccurring post on your friends' pages, DO NOT re-post it. Here's why.

Justin Sullivan, Getty Images

This viral post began back in 2012 and now seems to be popping up again for whatever reason. The Facebook Copyright Notice that people keep sharing or posting on their pages usually reads as follows:

As of September 27, 2015 at 11:43 a.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste.

 

From a legal standpoint, this does absolutely nothing to prevent Facebook from sharing your information or photos, etc. Under the 'sharing your content and information,' Facebook explains the correct legal terms and what it covers. It all falls under the their Terms of Service.

Here are a couple of other handy articles that breakdown the viral hoax:

The only real legitimate means you have of keeping your photos and videos private is to not post them to social media in the first place by either not being a member of Facebook or permanently delete your Facebook account.