Are NJ firework laws too restrictive? – Poll
Did you know you could do up to 30 days in jail for lighting a sparkler in New Jersey?
New Jersey is one of three states where fireworks are completely illegal. This ban includes small firecrackers, roman candles, and yes, those fizzling sticks of fire that are basically the same thing as magic birthday candles.
Using or owning these items and others can cost you up to $500 plus jail time, and if you get caught selling them, you'll face even more penalties.
But in light of recent headlines about firework-related injuries to Giants' defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul and a Maine resident who died after lighting a mortar tube off his head, you have to wonder if firework laws keep people safe.
Do you think New Jersey's firework laws are too restrictive? Can you regulate bad decision making? Let us know by answering the poll and commenting below.