Most drivers don’t know what NJ’s child-seat law requires
A year after New Jersey's child safety seat law hit the books, a survey finds many motorists still lack knowledge about some of the law's basics.
The AAA survey found a little under half of the people are aware that you have to keep a child rear-facing until they are 2 years old. Spokeswoman Cathleen Lewis says that number increases just a little bit to over 50 percent if the driver has a child in their car often.
According to the AAA, a properly-installed car seats are the best way to protect young children in a vehicle.
Among surveyed parents, 28 percent believed that kids must stay rear-facing for 18 months or less, and 27 percent did not know what the law said.
"We need to make sure that parents are aware of [the law], and so we are continuing our education effort."
By New Jersey's regulations, children who are 4 and under and weigh 40 pounds or less need a five-point harness once they are turned around to face forward in their child seat. Children also need a booster seat until they are 8 or at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall.
Joe Cutter is the afternoon news anchor on New Jersey 101.5. Contact him