“Last Call to Stop Drunk Driving” Proposed in Trenton [AUDIO]
Under a measure introduced by Assemblywoman Caroline Casagrande (R), patrons at New Jersey bars and restaurants with liquor licenses would get a written reminder of the consequences associated with driving while intoxicated.
The establishments would be required to post notices in their restrooms, as well as near the entrances and exits, that explain New Jersey's DWI penalties. Any location that fails to post the notices would face a $50 fine.
"New Jersey has very strict laws against drunk driving, yet they don't stop people from endangering their own lives, and even worse, other innocent people on the road," Casagrande said.
For first-offense drivers with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 and 0.10, maximum penalties include a $400 fine, 30 days imprisonment, three-month license suspension, 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years.
"This is a last call to stop drunk driving," said Casagrande. "This would give them a final reminder on the way out the door before doing something incredibly stupid like getting behind the wheel."
The posted notices would also include a phone number for safe transportation home.
Casagrande said "one piece of paper" displaying the severe consequences of driving drunk might spare a person from losing their license or life.