Craig Biggio, Jeff Bagwell, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds,
Edgar Martinez, Larry Walker, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa. All of these baseball players were eligible for the Hall of Fame this year. Who got in? No one.

While some of these guys, like McGwire, Bonds, Sosa and Clemens have been heavily linked to steroid use in the game, other eligible players were not. Mike Piazza has never been associated with performance enhancing drugs. Neither has Biggio or Curt Schilling. Unfortunatly for them, they played during a time where fans and writers assume that anyone who performed at a high level must have been cheating.

That is not the case, and the writers who were responsible for voting this year should be ashamed. Those who submitted a blank ballot should have their privileges revoked permanently. If any athlete is a confirmed performance enhancing drug user, yes, his or her entire career is tainted. That's why there will always be questions about letting Barry Bonds into Cooperstown. (Even though he had hall of fame numbers before he started taking steroids) Also, the assumption that injecting yourself with anabolic steroids instantaneously turns you into a superhuman is foolish. Just ask former Met catcher, Paul Lo Duca:

Next year should be interesting. All of these players will be up for the Hall of Fame again, along with the following: Tom Glavine, Jeff Kent, Greg Maddux, Mike Mussina and Frank Thomas.

Do you agree with the writers' decision to not elect anyone to the National Baseball Hall of Fame? Who would have been on your ballot? Take our polls and share your thoughts in the comment section below.