ROCHESTER, N.Y. (AP) -- Academy Award winner Michael Douglas will receive the George Eastman Award for his contributions to the film industry.

Michael Douglas (Alex Goodlett, Getty Images)

The George Eastman House said Wednesday that the star of films including "Wall Street" and "Basic Instinct" will receive the award during a May 14 ceremony at the Dryden Theatre, followed by a black-tie gala at the Rochester museum dedicated to photography and motion picture.

Douglas has produced and acted in more than 75 films and television series. He won one Oscar for best actor for 1987's "Wall Street" and one for best film for co-producing "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" in 1975.

The Eastman Award, established in 1955, is named for the photography innovator who founded Rochester-based Eastman Kodak.

Previous award winners include Charlie Chaplin, Gregory Peck, Martin Scorsese, Meryl Streep and Richard Gere.


(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)