Metallica is preparing to self-destruct -- in a good way!

James Hetfield and Kirk Hammett of Metallica. (Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

The band announced Thursday its releasing its first album in eight years. "Hardwired ... To Self-Destruct" will feature 80 minutes of music from the veteran heavy metal group. The album is scheduled for release Nov. 18.

Metallica debuted the album's first track, "Hardwired," on 93X (KXXR-FM) in Minneapolis. They say their 11th studio album represents "the next phase of our journey."

The band says "Hardwired ... To Self-Destruct" will be available as a double CD, vinyl, through digital download, as well as a deluxe edition with "the riffs that were the origins of the album."

The band's current line-up includes singer-guitarist James Hetfield, drummer Lars Ulrich, lead guitarist Kirk Hammett and bassist Robert Trujillo.

Metallica released "Death Magnetic" in 2008.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Sign up for the Newsletter

Get the best of delivered to your inbox every day.