Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards from CHIC, and Chip Taylor will be the latest inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers kick off their summer 2014 tour in support of their latest album 'Hypnotic Eye' at Viejas Arena on August 3, 2014 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Jerod Harris/Getty Images)

The artists will be inducted during a ceremony in New York City on June 9, it was announced Wednesday. Gaye and Edwards will be inducted posthumously.

These writers and musicians are behind such classic songs as Costello's "Alison," Gaye's "Sexual Healing" and "Let's Get It On," and Petty's "Free Fallin"' and "American Girl." Rodgers and Edwards wrote the disco hit "Le Freak" and Taylor was a multigenre songwriter behind hits like "Wild Thing" and "Angel in the Morning."

Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

(Copyright 2016 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Sign up for the NJ1015.com Newsletter

Get the best of NJ1015.com delivered to your inbox every day.