Jan Berenstain, 88, the children's author who co-created Berenstain Bears books with her husband Stan has died today.

  • 5

    The Berenstain Bears And The Truth

    First published Sept. 12, 1983, this classic Berenstain Bears story deals with truth-telling. In this story, Brother and Sister Bear accidentally break Mama Bear's favorite lamp, then tell a little lie that grows bigger and bigger until Papa Bear finds out and helps them set things straight.

  • 4

    The Berenstain Bears Show Some Respect

    First published in Aug. 30, 2011, this story teaches the ancient lesson to, "honor your father and mother." The Berenstain Bear family gets a reminder to show respect when Gramps and Gran Bear point out a change in the family attitude.

  • 3

    The Berenstain Bears and the Easter Story

    This popular Berenstain Bears book was first published Jan. 16, 2012 and includes a sticker set. In this story, Brother and Sister Bear go crazy with candy on Easter. Mama and Papa bear share the story of Jesus' resurrection to show them that Easter means more than just candy.

  • 2

    The Berenstain Bears Learn About Strangers

    Fist published in Aug. 12, 1985. In this classic children's story, Papa Bear inadvertently scares Sister Bear when he tells her why they should never talk to strangers. Sister Bear becomes apprehensive around all strangers until Mama Bear eases her fear with a dose of common sense. Together, they set rules regarding contact with strangers.

  • 1

    The Berenstain Bears and the Messy Room

    First published in May 12, 1983. Brother and Sister Bear squabble over their messy room and bicker instead of working together to clean it up.